Mamelodi Sundowns Win 4th Consecutive League Title

Mamelodi Sundowns won a record fourth DStv Premiership title with an emphatic 3-1 win over ten-man SuperSport United at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Wednesday.


Lebohang Maboe, Aubrey Modiba and Themba Zwane scored for the champions, while Teboho Mokoena scored Matsatsantsa’s solitary goal on the night.


Sundowns have now won an 11th league title in the Premier Soccer League era with three games remaining in the 2020-21 season.


The victory moved Sundowns 10 points clear atop the league standings while SuperSport remains in sixth spot.


The latest title triumph saw the Brazilians extend their record number of DStv Premiership wins to 14.


Only five clubs have managed multiple league title victories in the 50-year history of the domestic competition.


Sundowns’ 2020-21 victory is their fourth in a row, also a new record in South African football, and puts them two wins ahead of Kaizer Chiefs, the next highest on the list with 12 league titles.


Chiefs have for years styled themselves as South Africa’s most successful club, and that remains true on the number of trophies won, but recent success has arguably put Sundowns ahead of them in the eyes of many.


The Brazilians now have more league titles, the most cherished prize in the local game, and their 2016 CAF Champions League success also outshines anything Chiefs have achieved in the past.


The only five sides that have won multiple league titles since the competition was first played in 1971 are Sundowns, Chiefs, Orlando Pirates (9), SuperSport United (3) and Durban City (2).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button